With a facebook group dedicated to inter-denominational Catholic dialog I am frequently online. So frequently in fact that my fiance suggested I decorate my ever present tablet to coordinate with my gown. Of course, in any group of Catholics when someone familiar suddenly seems to have disappeared from the neighborhood you can be sure that people notice. Next thing you know, messages get sent, that person becomes intention number 4 in a daily mass, and if more than a few weeks go by St. Jude and the Virgin Mary will be approached and asked for assistance to catch God’s ear and have him solve the mystery already.

On the internet everything happens faster, and so today I found myself deluged with messages, emails, and calls basicly asking “Are you alright?!” Let me assure the reader that I am “not yet dead”, merely waylaid by the most exciting, exhausting, demanding, roller coaster, adrenaline rush experience a mother can have.

My daughter Nicole is getting married.

Now, as on of two well loved ex-stepmoms my surges of emotions, level of busyness, physical and mental effort are nothing compared to Nicole’s Mom or her new stepMom. Usually in this type of situation, us ex-stepmothers do useful things as needed, provide support and cash, and mostly go through the ‘Oh I remember when she….’ moments while curled up with an apple mocktini or a good glass of Crown Royal.

This wedding began as a joke about how cool would it be for us to get. The same month we both have our birthdays. It turned to a different tone when nicole found out that a relative suffering from cancer was not going to get better. From there I basically found out that we had just under 14 days to execute a wedding that might have as many as a hundred people. At this point all five mothers got involved except for the one that was still reeling from her own father’s death just a week before. Within days relatives have been contacted, a dressing and secured, and progress has been made on assorted other parts and pieces. I had decided to take care of her cake and her flowers, and terry the new step mom equally agreed to join in this endeavor. We get along fabulously and so we have had quite a bit of fun as we have been working on assembling cuddles and baking cakes. However it has taken a toll on my home and on my fiance Brian. Here are a few photos…first the somewhat naked end of an arch vine…

image

Then the fabric for the pink bolero to go with the wedding dress…

image

The concept for the cake…

image

Then, in a thousand word picture, my kitchen table…

image

Of course, surprise weddings rarely happenin a vaccumn, so there is also the previously started construction projects, like the supports for the windowsill garden to fix this….

image

Yes, that really is a folded up staples box holding our precious vegetables. But, wait there’s more! Like the loft murphy bed we had just worked on…

image

So, to reassure the family, friends, and assorted members of my various groups….I am still here, buried in flowers and ribbon, with icing on my shirt, and even though I am a busy tired woman, I am also a very happy Momma.

Life is good.

