Heartache

Each minute that goes by
Alone in a cold bed
Is another minute I dive for
The sleep medicine
And my heart aches to curl up next to him.
.
Each hour that goes by
Without his voice
Is another hour I try to stay so busy
I will not notice
But my heart aches for the sound of his laugh.

.

Each day that goes by
Without his arms around me
Is another day I feel I am closing down
To human touch
And my heart aches to nuzzle into his chest.

.

I dread what it will be like
Should it come to pass
That I measure in weeks
How long he is away
And my heart trembles in fear at the thought.

.

How do you tell a heart
That the one it loves above all others
The one it has been true to for years
Is lost and wandering again, and
You are not sure when, or if,
He will find his way back this time?

.

My love was the most valued thing
I could give him.
My heart was like silver shining bright.
My friendship was, is, everlasting.
My care for him the sweetest ministry.
But most of all, the vow I made
that Valentine’s Day
Never wavered,
and never will.

.

Every hour that passes
I can do little more than
What I have done every other time
He has thrown me away, gotten lost,
or chosen someone else’s tin charms.
So I pray, just like the other times
But while I pray, I am bowed over in pain
Because my heart aches…that…much…

.

I love you. Come back soon, I miss you so…
my heart aches for you.

(C)11/6/15 Brenda Ann Eckels, aMGC

