dentureadventure_icon3 First Denture Appointment Day!

By Brenda Ann Eckels, aMGC © 2017

Ladies, I have one word of advice for you as your first denture appointment approaches. Don’t bother with the makeup, and wear a shirt that can be easily washed.

 

moldsaremessy2
You should have seen the other side…messy, messy!

I really didn’t know what to expect, other than that some kind of Fimo-clay like substance would be pressed up against my gums, palate, and bottom of my mouth.

 

I got loaded into the paratransit van and arrived at Alliance for Dental Care filled with joy that after a long struggle and some miracles and help from amazing people, I was finally getting this adventure on the road.

I have to admit, when I wheeled in and saw this HUGE syringe on the tray I was more than a little nervous. However, today molds are an amazing use of high-tech polymers, and there is no pain involved (unless, like me you have TMD/TMJ, but that’s another story).

moldaremessy1
Trust me, The syringe looked a lot bigger at the beginning.

 

It definitely feels weird to have this oozy tasteless stuff expanding in your mouth, but I was surprised that it really doesn’t even cause any kind of a gag reflex.

The end result is a two color mold of the inside of your mouth and yes, you should take a look. As a former singer, it was very cool to be able to see the various changes in the surface of my palate that I use to create different sounds.

As I said, the worst part of my first “Let’s Go!” denture appointment was some jaw pain from holding my mouth open, but for the non-spoonies out there, it is easy, painless, over in under an hour, but a tad messy.

Don’t worry folks, they will let you wash your face up after.

Want to know How did THAT Happen? Or why Case Managers are so important?

dentureadventure_icon1dentureadventure_icon2

June 1st…Only $780 more dollars to raise and I can take my dentures HOME! Click the banner to help me be able to actually chew food again!DentureAdventure_gofundmebanner

 

